Famagusta District

Famagusta District

Famagusta District is one of the six districts of Cyprus (Turkish: Mağusa).

Famagusta, which means “buried in the sand”, is a major port in North Cyprus. It lies on the island’s east coast. More importantly, it includes the deepest harbour in Cyprus.




Firstly, Famagusta city lies south of the ancient city of Salamis. Secondly, it is located in north of the ancient ghost town of Varosha (Maras). However, today Varosha is no more than an empty ghost town.

Above all, as a seaport, this city is a center for the export of citrus fruits and other agricultural products and livestock; other major economic activities include cotton spinning, the distillation of brandy, and fishing.

Spectacular attractions of the city:

Famagusta is one of the finest examples of medieval architecture in the eastern Mediterranean with many beautiful places to see. For instance Famagusta City Walls, Lala Mustafa Pasha Mosque, Othello Castle, Salamis ruins, Sea Gate and St. Barnabas Monastery are some of the most famous attractions of this district.

Yeni Boğaziçi is a large village in Cyprus. In addition, it is near the ancient Salamis.

To begin with, Yeni Boğaziçi has the most beautiful sandy beaches. Moreover, it’s 5 minutes drive to Famagusta center and Eastern Mediterranean University.

Spectacular attractions of the city:

Salamis Ancient City

Sandy beaches

Water sports

beach bars and restaurants

More neigborhoods

See the rest of the sights and properties.


Enter your keyword